Structure of O-specific polysaccharide chain of the Yersinia aldovae lipopolysaccharide

V. A. Zubkov, B. P. Gorshkova, E. L. Nazarenko, A. S. Shashkov, Yu. S. Ovodov

Pacific Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry, Far-East Division,

Academy of Sciences of the USSR, Vladivostok;

N. D. Zelinsky Institute of Organic Chemistry, Academy of Sciences of the USSR, Moscow

Abstract: O-specific polysaccharide has been isolated on mild hydrolysis of lipopolysaccharide from Yersinia aldovae and shown to consist of 2-acetamido-2-deoxy-D-glucose, D-glucose, 2-acetamido-2-deoxy-D-galactose, and 3,6-dideoxy-3-[(R)-3-hydroxybutyramido]-.D-galactose in molar ratio 2:2:1:1. Acid hydrolysis, methylation, solvolysis with anhydrous hydrogen fluoride, 1H and 13C NMR studies indicated the polysaccharide to be composed of hexasaccharide repeating units of the following structure:

R= óCóCH2óCHóCH3
    ||    |  
    O     OH

Russian Journal of Bioorganic Chemistry 1991, 17 (6):831-838

Full Text (PDF, in Russian)